Group of Death

Nashville, TN, United States / The Game Nashville
Group of Death

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is still 7 months away, but the deck just got stacked against the ladies of the USA. As the pool draws trickled down, the Americans learned that they, like they’re male counterparts in Brazil, would be in the “Group of Death” when play kicks off in Canada come June. The USA, who were the runner ups in the 2011 World Cup, will play in Pool D. Pool D is the only pool to feature 3 nations ranked in the top 10 of international women’s soccer. The top ranked USA Women’s team will open play against 10th ranked Australia on June 8th in Winnipeg. The Americans will then play 5th ranked Sweden on June 12th back in Winnipeg. The USA will finally get a bit of an easier match-up on June 16th against #35 Nigeria in Vancouver. Despite the tough draw, the USA expects to advance past pool play and hopes to play on June 22nd in Edmonton as the Group D winner. U.S. forward Sydney Leroux seems up to the challenge ahead with a Twitter post as the group was announced that simply read, “Bring it on.”

Here is the complete pool draw:

Group A: Canada, China, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group B: Germany, Ivory Coast, Norway, Thailand

Group C: Japan, Switzerland, Cameroon, Ecuador

Group D: United States, Australia, Sweden, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, South Korea, Spain, Costa Rica

Group F: France, England, Colombia, Mexico

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup begins June 6th. The Championship Game is scheduled for July 5th in Vancouver.

-Jonathan Burchfield

Comments are closed.